Rottnest Island has a rich history, spanning cultures and generations. It has been known by many names and used for different purposes.
Rottnest Island’s history extends as far back as 50,000 years ago, when it was still connected to the mainland of Western Australia. Aboriginal artifacts suggest there was significant human occupation until ~7,000 years ago when the rising sea levels resulted in the separation of the island. Without boats Aboriginal people on the mainland weren’t able to make the crossing, leaving the island uninhabited for the next several thousand years. Rottnest Island features in Noongar Aboriginal mythology as Wadjemup, meaning "place across the water where the spirits are".
't Eylandt 't Rottenest
After separating from the mainland, the island remained uninhabited until 13 Dutch sailors from the Waeckende Boey landed near Bathurst Point on the 19 March 1658. This marked the beginning of the European exploration and settlement on the island. In 1696, Dutch captain Willem de Vlamingh spent 6 days exploring the island before giving it the name 't Eylandt 't Rottenest ("Rats' Nest Island") after the quokkas which he mistook for giant rats. In his reports, Willem described Rottnest island as "...a paradise on earth".
Swan River Colony Offshoot
A couple hundred years later, William Clarke and Robert Thomson received land grants from the British Swan River Colony for pasture land and town lots to be built on the island. In 1831 Thomson moved his family to the island and began building up the island’s main settlement at Thompson Bay. Pasture land for hay production was developed west of Herschel Lake, while several salt lakes were harvested and the salt was exported to the mainland. Today, you can wander through the main settlement and be transported back through time as you stroll past early colonial cottages, including the salt stores.
Throughout the majority of the European exploration and settlement, Rottnest Island communicated with the mainland of Western Australia through semaphore flags and flares. Up until the 1880s, a manned lookout at Bathurst Point included a signalling station, which conveyed shipping information between the island’s Wadjemup Lighthouse and Arthur Head on the mainland. Wadjemup Lighthouse has undergone many upgrades throughout its history, continuing to be in operation today by the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.
Rottnest Island Fortress
During World War II, Rottnest Island was an important part of the defence of the Fremantle port. Military fixtures including the railway, barracks, concrete lookouts, bunkers and four large guns positioned at Oliver Hill and Bickley Point became known as the "Rottnest Island Fortress". Much of this infrastructure was decommissioned after WWII and in the 1990s the gun emplacements and railway were extensively reconstructed. Today, you can set up camp in the old barracks, take a tour of the guns and tunnels, and journey to the battery on the train from Kingstown Barracks.
Rottnest Island still goes by many names – known as Wadjemup to the local Noongar people, and colloquially known as Rotto. Today, it is a popular holiday destination, with ~500,000 annual visitors. Due to its rich social and geological history as well as a truly unique ecosystem, Rottnest Island has been classified as an A-class reserve – the highest level of protection afforded to public land.